Skip to content

Meet Senator Mark Begich

April 5, 2013

aurorawatcherak

When Mark Begich first announced his candidacy to represent Alaska in the US Senate, I was mildly interested. Although I’m a conservative and he was the Democratic mayor of Anchorage, I am a non-partisan and have voted for Democrats on occasion. I admit, I didn’t know much about Mark. His father, Nick, had been Alaska’s representative until he died in a plane crash in 1972. My father, an old-style Democrat, knew and liked Nick a lot and my mother, another conservative non-partisan, also thought he was a fine representative for Alaska. In fact, she had been lobbying Nick to run against Senator Mike Gravel when Nick died.

So, I checked out Mark Begich.

He was born in Anchorage, he lost his father when he was 10 and was raised by his mother. He attended Stellar Secondary School , an alternative “charter-type” school that allows the student to direct his own…

View original post 1,055 more words

No comments yet

Peace. Leave a Reply

