Skip to content

The Truth About ‘Those People’

April 12, 2013

The Minivan Hustle

Just a day before the Easter holiday I was in line to check out with my groceries, making scalloped potatoes and green bean casserole for the first time to bring to the family dinner.  In line I focused on entertaining my child in the grocery cart, she had been singing “The Wheels on the Bus” all through the store and was toward the end of her patience.  There was a young woman checking out in front of me with a male middle-aged cashier.  On the conveyor belt I noticed a generic two liter bottle of soda, which I seem to associate with low-income homes I have frequented as a social worker.  Next I glanced at her hands and saw she was carrying plastic and a few small paper bills.

I played with my daughter while he rang her up.  My focus was reasserted back to the cashier and young woman…

View original post 825 more words

No comments yet

Peace. Leave a Reply

